Skip to content
Eyeline

Comparison

Eyeline vs Notch, side by side.

Both put your script at the camera line on a Mac. They part company on price, on where the panel is allowed to go, and above all on what your audience sees when you share your whole screen.

Every claim about Notch on this page comes from notchscript.com and the FAQ published there, checked on 5 August 2026. Where that site is silent, this page says so instead of guessing.

Are Eyeline and Notch the same kind of app?

Yes. Both are paid macOS teleprompters that park your script at the camera line so you can read a script while appearing to look into the lens. This is a genuine head to head, not two tools talking past each other. Notch here means the camera side teleprompter at notchscript.com, not the several unrelated Mac utilities that put widgets and shelves in the notch area.

Eyeline

Free 30 days, then $19 once

A 2.4 MB menu bar app for macOS 14 or later, Apple silicon and Intel. The panel is fixed under the camera, excluded from every kind of screen capture, and the app only ever contacts the network to check your license. The trial takes a card up front and charges $19 once on day 30, unless you cancel first.

What Eyeline does

Notch

$29.99, one time

Its site describes a teleprompter for macOS 14.7 or later, Apple silicon and Intel, with two layouts: a camera notch mode and a floating window you can move and resize on an external display. Voice sync scrolling and a built in script editor are listed, and a free trial download is offered.

notchscript.com

Line by line

What is the difference between Eyeline and Notch?

Eyeline costs $19 and its panel is absent from every capture path, including a full display share, a recording, and a screenshot. Notch costs $29.99 and adds a resizable floating window and a script editor, and its FAQ says the overlay may be visible if you share your entire display. Everything else is close.

Notch figures are from notchscript.com and its published FAQ, checked on 5 August 2026. A cell marked "Not stated" means that site does not address it, not that the feature is absent.
Compared onEyelineNotch
Price$19, one time, after a 30 day free trial$29.99, one time
Minimum macOSmacOS 14macOS 14.7
Mac chipsApple silicon and IntelApple silicon and Intel
Where the script sitsOne fixed position, under the cameraCamera notch mode, plus a floating window you can move and resize
Scroll controlVoice sync on device, or timed at a words per minute you setVoice sync scrolling that tracks your speech
Sharing a single app windowPanel is not in the captureOverlay is hidden from viewers
Sharing your entire displayPanel is not in the captureOverlay may be visible
Screen recording and screenshotsPanel is not in the captureNot stated
Network accessA license check, twice. Scripts, voice, and usage never leave the MacNot stated. The site says scripts stay local, with no cloud upload
Script editor in the appScripts are plain JSON files on diskBuilt in
Global hotkeysYes, and no Accessibility permission is requiredNot stated
Try before you pay30 day free trial, everything unlocked. Card required to startFree trial download offered
First launchRight click, then Open, because the build is not notarized yetNot stated

The difference that decides it

Which one stays hidden when you share your screen?

Eyeline does, in every capture path. Its window is marked as excluded from capture, and macOS enforces that in the window server rather than in the app, so screen sharing, screen recording, and screenshots all receive frames that never contained the panel. Sharing one window or the whole display makes no difference to it.

The Notch FAQ, as of August 2026, answers this differently. It says the overlay is hidden when you share a specific app window, that it "may be visible" if you share your entire display, and it recommends sharing individual application windows for best results. If you only ever share a single window, that distinction may not matter to you. If you share a whole desktop, or record one, it is the entire decision.

Neither site claims anything about the other app. This is simply what each one documents about itself.

How Eyeline stays out of the capture

Honest split

When is Notch the better choice?

When you want the prompter somewhere other than under the camera, or when you would rather write scripts inside the app. Those are real advantages and we are not going to pretend otherwise.

Notch fits better if

  • You present from an external display and want a resizable prompter window you can park next to your slides.
  • You want to write and revise scripts in the same app that runs them.

Eyeline fits better if

  • You share full screens, record demos, or take screenshots, and the script must be absent from all three.
  • Your scripts are confidential enough that you want an app that keeps them, and your voice, on the Mac and sends nothing about how you use it.
  • You want the lightest thing that works, at the lower price, with hotkeys that need no Accessibility permission.
What leaves your Mac, and what does not

Where we are rougher

What is worse about Eyeline right now?

The install. Eyeline arrives as a DMG the moment your trial starts, and version 1.0 is ad hoc signed rather than notarized by Apple, so the first launch needs a right click and then Open instead of a double click. That is a worse first minute than it should be, and it is on our list.

The trial asks for a card. You get 30 days with every feature unlocked, but you enter card details to start, and on day 30 we charge $19 once unless you cancel first, which you do from a link in your email rather than inside the app. If you would rather test software without handing over a card at all, that is a fair thing to weigh.

And the panel goes in one place, under the camera. That is the whole design argument, but if you need a prompter window beside your slides on a second monitor, it is a limitation rather than a feature.

See the setup end to end·What the trial includes

Questions

Asked before choosing.

All questions

Is Eyeline or Notch cheaper?

Eyeline is cheaper. Eyeline is $19 and Notch is listed at $29.99 on notchscript.com as of August 2026, a difference of $10.99. Both are one time purchases rather than subscriptions, so the gap is the whole story.

Will people see the teleprompter when I share my screen?

With Eyeline, no. The panel is marked as excluded from capture and macOS enforces that inside the window server, so screen sharing, screen recording, and screenshots all receive frames without it, whether you share one window or the whole display. The Notch FAQ, as of August 2026, states that its overlay is hidden when you share a specific app window and may be visible when you share your entire display, and recommends sharing individual windows.

Do Eyeline and Notch both run on Intel Macs?

Yes, both list Apple silicon and Intel support. Eyeline requires macOS 14 or later. The Notch site states macOS 14.7 or later and support for Apple silicon and Intel Macs that can run that version, as of August 2026.

Can I try either app before paying?

Both. Notch offers a free trial download on its site as of August 2026. Eyeline gives you 30 days free with every feature unlocked, and a card is required up front to start it: on day 30 you are charged $19 once, and cancelling before then on the Eyeline website costs you nothing. After the charge there is still a 14 day full refund, no questions asked.

Which one should I choose?

Choose Eyeline if the script must never appear in a full display share, a recording, or a screenshot, and if you want an app that keeps your scripts, your voice, and your usage on the Mac and only ever contacts the network to check your license. Choose Notch if you want a resizable prompter window you can park anywhere on an external display, or a script editor inside the app. Both let you try before you pay, so the trial is no longer the deciding factor.

The script your audience never sees.

Free for 30 days, then $19 once, on every Mac you own. No subscription, no renewal, and no account to create.

See how it works

A card is required to start. On day 30 you are charged $19 once, and never again. Cancel any time in those 30 days, on this website, and you pay nothing.

macOS 14 or later. 2.4 MB. Works on Apple silicon and Intel.